Get to Know Brett Albertson, the Newest Member of the Active IQ Team

• Brett Albertson & family at Penn State University

Brett Albertson is the newest member of our Active IQ team. Active IQ is NetApp’s suite of cloud services that help customers derive actionable insights on how to avoid disruptions and optimize their modern data center. In his role as a technical marketing engineer (TME), Brett helps to communicate the value of Active IQ so that we can increase the amount of usage we have. The more people we have using Active IQ, the more data we’re collecting, and ultimately, the more value we can provide.

I sat down with Brett recently and asked him some questions about the value of Active IQ, his role on our team, and what’s on the horizon for Active IQ.

What is your role on the Active IQ team?

I’m a technical marketing engineer (TME) working on Active IQ. My main responsibility is around field enablement. And by field, I mean end users of all the Active IQ products and tools. Previously, I was a TME for our sizing and performance tools, and I was also the product manager for the System Performance Modeler.

Enablement is a broad term. The core aspects of enablement include producing technical documentation, videos, training courses and content, as well as webinars and other online training forums like new-hire training. In particular, my role includes interfacing with not just sales teams but also partners. More than 80% of NetApp’s sales are through the channel, so it’s important that we keep those teams aligned to the developments in our portfolio and the needs of our customers.